Starting out on online flying

(1/2) > >>

Hi, I'm relatively new to Flight Simming, and as yet I have not ventured into the realm of online flight.
With this in mind, before I do take the plunge into it (or should that be leap?!), are there any hard and fast rules regarding Online flight that are useful to know before I start. For example - can I use whatever aircraft I fancy? What speed connection to the net do I need etc??

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and made full use of.

Steve welcome to the forum.

First of all an appology for taking a while to reply. I do still check this forum from time to time but not as often as I would like to im affraid.

With regards to online flying it is a very scary and almost un-nerving place to go. You are litterally venturing into a different world and facing almost real fears.

But It isn't as bad as you imagine. Its a warm, welcoming place and one where everyone helps out eachother and is there to help you.

You can fly any plane you like but it has to be within reason. For example if you were connected to a multiplayer network with a Eurofighter jet flying at the speed of sound then it would be more than likely that you would get kicked off.

But I am part of a VFR virtual club that is just like the real deal. It is called VBFC (Virtual Bristol Flying Centre) and is based on the real world Bristol Flying Centre at Bristol International Airport (BRS/EGGD).

The VBFC offers full training right from the very start up to IFR flights and helps you along every step of the way. This is only available on the VATSIM network unfortunately. But is well worth it to help you along with your virtual career.

with regards to speed you can use a 56K dial-up modem but a 512kbps broadband connection is reccomended for optimum performance. If your speed is higher than this then even better.